The Hagstrom Report

Agriculture News As It Happens


House Ag leaders make committee, subcommittee changes

House Agriculture Committee Chairman Frank Lucas, R-Okla., late Thursday announced a reorganization of subcommittees for the next Congress and named the chairmen, while ranking member Collin Peterson, D-Minn., announced some new Democratic members of the committee.
Rep. Steve King, R-IowaRep. Austin Scott, R-Ga.Rep. Rick Crawford, R-Ark.
Rep. Steve King, R-Iowa; Rep. Austin Scott, R-Ga.; Rep. Rick Crawford, R-Ark.

Subcommittee reorganization

Lucas announced that he has added nutrition to the subcommittee on department operations and oversight, removed credit from that subcommittee, and named Rep. Steve King, R-Iowa, one of the most conservative members of the committee, the subcommittee chairman.

King will succeed Rep. Jeff Fortenberry, R-Neb., who is leaving the Agriculture committee for another assignment, and Rep. Jean Schmidt, R-Ohio, who was in charge of the nutrition and horticulture subcommittee, but was defeated in a primary.

Lucas has also created a Horticulture, Research, Biotechnology and Foreign Agriculture Subcommittee by taking jurisdiction from two previous subcommittees, and appointed Rep. Austin Scott, R-Ga., as its chairman.

Lucas also created the Livestock, Rural Development and Credit Subcommittee and named Rep. Rick Crawford, R-Ark., the chairman.

Rep. Tim Johnson, R-Ill., had chaired the Rural Development, Research, Biotechnology and Foreign Agriculture Subcommittee, while Rep. Thomas Rooney, R-Fla., chaired the Livestock, Dairy and Poultry Subcommittee.

Two subcommittees and their chairmen were not changed.

Rep. Michael Conaway, R-Texas, will continue to chair the General Farm Commodities and Risk Management Subcommittee, and Rep. Glenn Thompson, R-Pa., will chair the Conservation, Energy and Forestry Subcommittee.

Michelle Lujan GrishamAnn KusterGloria McLeodFilemon Vela
Michelle Lujan Grisham; Ann Kuster; Gloria McLeod; Filemon Vela

New Democrats on committee

Peterson announced that newly-elected Democratic Reps. Michelle Lujan Grisham of New Mexico, Ann Kuster of New Hampshire, Gloria McLeod of California and Filemon Vela of Texas will join the House Ag committee.

Rep. John Garamendi, D-Calif., has already joined the committee, following the retirement of Rep. Dennis Cardoza, D-Calif.