The Hagstrom Report

Agriculture News As It Happens


How they voted on the farm bill

Thirty-five members of the House Agriculture Committee voted to approve the farm bill early Thursday, but 11 voted against it.

The 11 committee members who voted “no” on approval:


  • Bob Gibbs, Ohio
  • Bob Goodlatte, Va.
  • Tim Huelskamp, Kan.
  • Marlin Stutzman, Ind.


  • Joe Baca, Calif.
  • Joe Courtney, Conn.
  • Marcia Fudge, Ohio
  • Jim McGovern, Mass.
  • Chellie Pingree, Maine
  • Terri Sewell, Ala.
  • David Scott, Ga.

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., said that if she were on the committee, she would have voted with the Democrats who voted “no” over the food stamp cut, the National Journal Daily reported.

Stutzman issued a news release that he had voted against the bill because the food stamp cut was not big enough.