The Hagstrom Report

Agriculture News As It Happens


Johansson named USDA deputy chief economist

Robert Johansson has been named the Agriculture Department’s deputy chief economist, USDA Chief Economist Joe Glauber announced today.

Johannson succeeds James Hrubovcak, who retired.

As deputy chief economist, Johansson assists in developing and maintaining a system of analysis that integrates economic policy with domestic and foreign agricultural and rural issues arising within the department, and he will continue to monitor issues related to energy and the environment, Glauber said.

Johansson began working for USDA in 2001 at the Economic Research Service where he led research efforts on various topics including agricultural and environmental policies, which entailed estimation and modeling of farm management and associated impacts on prices, trade, production, and air and water quality, USDA said in a news release.

In 2006, Johansson took a position with the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs at the Office of Management and Budget, where he worked as economist and policy analyst on environmental, energy, and agricultural regulations.

In 2008, he moved to the Congressional Budget Office to work on climate change and energy policy issues. In 2010, he returned as a senior economist to USDA’s Climate Change Program Office where he helped analyze land use and land use change for climate change proposals and coordinated policy on the use of biomass in energy production consistent with recent developments in the Clean Air Act.

Johansson was detailed to the White House in 2011 to be the senior economist for energy, environment, and agriculture on the Council of Economic Advisers. There he has worked on budgetary and regulatory policies for USDA, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the Department of Energy and other agencies.

Johansson received an master of arts degree and a doctorate in agricultural economics from the University of Minnesota in 2000 and a bachelor of arts degree in economics from Northwestern University in 1990.