The Hagstrom Report

Agriculture News As It Happens

Pelosi fills last three seats on deficit committee

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., announced today that she has chosen Democratic Reps. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland, Jim Clyburn of South Carolina and Xavier Becerra of California to serve on the bipartisan House and Senate super committee on deficit reduction.

Van Hollen is the highest ranking Democrat on the House Budget Committee. Clyburn is the assistant leader of the House and the highest-ranking African-American in the house. Becerra is the highest-ranking Latino office holder and serves as Democratic caucus vice chairman.

Pelosi’s picks round out the 12-member super committee whose members have been appointed by Democratic and Republican leaders of each chamber.