The Hagstrom Report

Agriculture News As It Happens

Stabenow names Michigan panels for first farm bill hearing

Senate Agriculture Committee Chairman Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., has announced an all-Michigan witness list for her first farm bill hearing, to be held May 31 at Michigan State University and titled “Opportunities for Growth: Michigan and the 2012 Farm Bill.”

The general public may participate by submitting written testimony which will be included in the official record of the hearing.
Panels and scheduled witnesses:

Welcome from Michigan State University
  • Lou Anna K. Simon, president, Michigan State University
  • J. Ian Gray, vice president for research and graduate studies, Michigan State University
  • Thomas G. Coon, director of Michigan State University Extension
Michigan Agricultural Production and Farm Bill Principles
  • Clark Gerstacker, Michigan Corn Growers Association
  • Ben LaCross, cherry production; chairman, American Farm Bureau, Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee
  • Ray VanDriessche, sugar beet production and conservation; director of community and government relations, Michigan Sugar Company
  • Julia Rothwell, apple production; chairwoman, U.S. Apple Association
  • Ken Nobis, dairy production; president, Michigan Milk Producers Association
  • Peter B. Blauwiekel, pork production; Michigan Pork Producers Council
Farm Bill Stakeholders in Michigan
  • Karen Serfass, forestry production; past president, Michigan Forest Association
  • Kristen Holt, president, Quality Assurance International and senior vice president, Food Safety & Quality, NSF International
  • Eric Davis, director, Food Initiative, United Way for Southeastern Michigan
  • Dennis West, president, Northern Initiatives
  • James Reid, Reid Dairy Farm
  • David Armstrong, president and CEO, Greenstone Farm Credit Services