The Hagstrom Report

Agriculture News As It Happens

Farr named highest-ranking Dem on House Ag subcommittee


The House Democratic caucus on Wednesday named Rep. Sam Farr, D-Calif., the highest-ranking Democrat on the House Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee.

Farr has long been an advocate for the fruit and vegetable industry and domestic and international food aid programs. Farr’s appointment follows the appointment of Rep. Rosa DeLauro, D-Conn., the former chairman of the subcommittee, as the ranking member of the House Appropriations Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Subcommittee.

“I have been proud to serve on the Agriculture and FDA Appropriations Subcommittee, and am very proud of what we were able to accomplish,” DeLauro said in a statement. “We provided the necessary resources to better protect our food supply, as well as improve the safety of drugs and devices. We improved access to fundamental nutrition programs that combat hunger. And, we provided critical investments to help facilitate growth in rural America. Now, I look forward to following my dear friend and mentor, David Obey, on to the Labor, Health and Human Services Appropriations Subcommittee.”

The subcommittee determines federal spending on food safety, agricultural research, some conservation programs and the special nutrition program for women, infants and children known as WIC. The subcommittee does not have direct jurisdiction over mandatory programs such as farm subsidies and food stamps, but occasionally cuts into the mandatory programs to pay for other priorities.

DeLauro will remain on the Agriculture subcommittee. Other members, according to the Democratic Appropriations Committee website, are Sanford Bishop of Georgia and Marcy Kaptur of Ohio.

Rep. Jack Kingston, R-Ga., will chair the subcommittee in the new Congress. Other Republican members of the subcommittee, according to the Republican Appropriations Committee website, are Tom Latham of Iowa, Jo Ann Emerson of Missouri and Rodney Alexander of Louisiana.