The Hagstrom Report

Agriculture News As It Happens


EPA announces new members of ag, rural issues committee

The Environmental Protection Agency today announced new members of the Farm, Ranch, and Rural Communities Committee (FRRCC) for 2012-2014.

The committee provides policy advice, information, and recommendations to the EPA administrator on a range of environmental issues and policies that are of importance to agriculture and rural communities.

The FRRCC addresses specific topics of relevance to agriculture as identified by the agricultural counselor to the administrator, Lawrence Elsworth, and reports its policy advice and recommendations to the administrator through him. The FRRCC meets approximately two times a year.

“The committee has provided thoughtful and substantive insights on agricultural and environmental issues over the past two years,” said Elsworth in a press release. “We have appreciated the contributions of the committee members and look forward to continued constructive engagement on key issues as the new committee begins its work.”

EPA Farm, Ranch and Rural Communities Committee, 2012 - 2014

  • Steven Balling, Chair – Del Monte Foods, Walnut Creek, Calif.
  • David Petty, Deputy Chair – Iowa River Ranch, Eldora, Iowa
  • Alicia Kaiser, Designated Federal Officer, Office of the Agricultural Counselor to the Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency
  • Peggy Beltrone – Exergy Integrated Systems, Great Falls, Mont.
  • Lori Berger, California Specialty Crops Council, Tulare, Calif,
  • George Boggs, Whatcom Conservation District, Lynden, Wash.
  • A. Richard Bonanno, Department of Plant, Soil, and Insect Science, University of Massachusetts, Methuen, Mass.
  • Daniel Botts, Florida Fruit and Vegetable Association, Maitland, Fla.
  • Charles Bowling, Bunker Hill Farm, Newburg, Md.
  • State Sen. Michael Brubaker, Senate of Pennsylvania, Lititz, Pa.
  • Robert Burns, University of Tennessee Extension Service, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Robert Carlson, National Farmers Union, Jamestown, N.D.
  • Lawrence Clark, Pilot Project Coordination, Alexandria, Va.
  • James Ford, Square "O" Consulting, Hermitage, Tenn.
  • Suzy Friedman, Environmental Defense Fund, Washington
  • Omar Garza, Texas Mexico Border Coalition, San Isidro, Texas
  • Archie Hart. North Carolina Department of Agriculture, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Patrick Johnson, Cypress Brake Planting Co., Tunica, Mississippi
  • Philip Korson, Cherry Marketing Institute, Lansing, Mich.
  • Paul Martin, Spear Six Ranch, Petaluma, Calif.
  • W. Thomas McDonald, JBS Five Rivers Cattle Feeding, Dalhart, Texas
  • Janis McFarland, Syngenta Crop Protection, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Steve McNinch, Western Plains Energy, Colby, Kan.
  • Secretary Bill Northey, Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Des Moines, Iowa
  • Jennie Popp, Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Anusuya Rangarajan, Small Farms Program, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.
  • Robert Rynning, Rynning Farm, Kennedy, Minn.
  • Larry Sanders, Department of Agricultural Economics, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, Okla.
  • Cheryl Shippentower, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla, Pendleton, Ore.
  • Ann Sorensen, Center for Agriculture in the Environment, American Farmland Trust, DeKalb, Ill.
  • Donn Teske, Donn Teske Farm, McPherson, Kan.
  • Dennis Treacy, Smithfield Foods, Smithfield, Va.