The Hagstrom Report

Agriculture News As It Happens


Agriculture committees adopt measures

The Senate Agriculture Committee has adopted the manager’s amendment to the farm bill by voice vote.

Three Republican senators — Thad Cochran of Mississippi, John Boozman of Arkansas and Saxby Chambliss of Georgia — asked that their opposition be noted. Boozman and Chambliss noted during opening remarks that they believe the commodity title does not treat southern agriculture fairly.

Senate Agriculture Committee Chairman Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., has said she expects a vote on the overall farm bill by the end of the day.

The Senate Appropriations Committee today approved the fiscal year 2013 Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies bill and the Energy and Water Development Appropriations bill by a vote of 28-1, the committee said in a news release.

NOTE: Amendments are being on the Senate Agriculture Committee's farm bill page as they are offered.

Details of the agriculture appropriations bill were contained in an earlier Hagstrom Report alert today.